.

Soon kittens

.

.

All About Burmeses & Bombays:

From yesterday to today
The original cat of all Burmeses is called Wong-Mau. She was brought back to San Francisco in 1930 by Major Thomson, then a doctor stationed in Bangkok. On the advice of a geneticist, he crossed with other cats from Thailand, including Siamese, to fix his dress with delicate shades of brown. In the late 1950s, American breeders stopped these marriages altogether and accepted only one color, seal sepia (also known as sable or sable). In the 1970s, the employment of a few exceptional cats reinforced the American Burmese type: rounded head, rounded forehead, round eyes and an ultra short body. The Bombay is the little brother of the American Burmese. This breed was created by Nikki Horner, an American breeder who dreamed of a domestic cat with the look of a black panther. After various trials, she had the idea of crossing Burmeses with black American Shorthairs. From 1966 to 1972, a total of 27 litters and over 100 kittens were needed before Nikki admitted having achieved her goal. Bombay was born.

His look
The American Burmese and Bombay are very powerful and athletic cats with surprising weight for their size. The head is round, with a rounded forehead and a marked stop and, most importantly, large round eyes of a beautiful golden color. The neckline is rather short. The body is compact with a well open rib cage. Shoulders and hips are rounded. The tail is medium in size. The characteristic fur is very short, close to the body and satiny. While the Bombay is jet black, the American Burmese has a typical coat pattern called sepia, where the color is lighter on the body to intensify at the ends without much contrast. Four colors are accepted: seal sepia (sable), chocolate sepia, blue sepia and lilac sepia.

His compagny

The American Burmese and Bombay are easy going cats. Rather calm and collected, they can have moments of great activity when they play with their master or go on an imaginary hunting party. Their ultra short fur is maintenance free, the caresses sufficient to shine their hair. Unlike other black cats, the Bombay's color does not suffer from prolonged exposure to the sun which gives it a reddish tinge. So much the better, because he loves sunbathing!

Burmeses & Bombays Standard :

"Come, my beautiful cat, on my heart
lover ; Hold back the claws of your paw,
And let me dive into your beautiful eyes
Mixed metal and agate.
When my fingers stroke at leisure
Your head and your elastic back,
And let my hand get drunk with pleasure
To feel your electric body. "
Charles Baudelaire

The history of Burmese beginns in 1930 in Rangoon, the capital of Burma. A US Army medic, Dr. Thompson, noticed a female cat named "Wong Mau" because of her beautiful dark brown fur. In San Francisco, Wong Mau was crossed with a Siamese male. In the second generation, Wong Mau gave birth to kittens resembling him with the same coat color. Today in France there are two types of Burmese: the American Burmese and the English Burmese.

The history of Bombay is more recent. This is not a natural breed, but a breed from the imagination of an American breeder. In the 60s, Nikki Horner created this new breed by crossing a Burmese and a black American shorthair. The result was startling. The Bombay was born and the breeder's dream of owning a miniature living room black panther came true after many years of work.

Characteristics :
The Bombay and the American Burmese share a similar standard. They have a pleasantly rounded head with a short nose, the body is compact and very muscular, the coat is very shiny close to the body. The Bombay wears a black dress only, while the American Burmese has several colors in its wardrobe: seal-sepia (sable), chocolate-sepia (champagne), blue-sepia, lilac-sepia.

Very uncommon in the world, the two races often breed together, and can be intermarried. In the breeding of the American Bombay / Burmese, only the American Sable Burmese can be crossed with the Bombay. Thus, the litters are often mixed with Bombays and Burmese kittens.

Marriages allowed in Bombay breeding: Bombay x Bombay Bombay x American Burmese Marriage allowed in the breeding of the American Burmese: American Burmese x American Burmese (any marriage with an English Burmese is prohibited and not recognized by the LOOF). 

Learn more about the:  STANDARD LOOF OF THE BOMBAY & BURMESE


ABOUT
The Alantolie Cattery is a family breeding of Norwegian cats, American Bombays-Burmese and Somalis. We are located in Loué, near Le Mans (Pays de Loire).

 Website under video watch 
Contact:
Alantolie Cattery
Adress : 12 rue Robert Schuman 
72540 LOUÉ
Phone : +33 6 26 06 65 12

.

Bientôt Des Chatons

.

.

Tout savoir sur les Burmeses & Bombays :

D´hier à aujourd´hui
La chatte à l’origine de tous les Burmeses s’appelle Wong-Mau. Elle a été ramenée en 1930 à San Francisco par le Major Thomson, alors médecin en poste à Bangkok. Sur les conseils d’un généticien, il fit des croisements avec d’autres chats venus de Thaïlande, dont des Siamois, pour fixer sa robe aux délicats dégradés de brun. Vers la fin des années 50, les éleveurs américains arrêtèrent complètement ces mariages et n’acceptèrent plus qu’une seule couleur, le seal sépia (appelé aussi sable ou zibeline). Dans les années 1970, l’emploi de quelques chats d’exception renforça le type du Burmese américain : tête arrondie, front bombé, yeux ronds et corps ultra court. Le Bombay est le petit frère du Burmese américain. Cette race a été créée par Nikki Horner, une éleveuse américaine qui rêvait d’un chat domestique au look de panthère noire. Après divers essais, elle eut l’idée de croiser des Burmeses avec des American Shorthairs noirs. De 1966 à 1972, c’est au total 27 portées et plus d’une centaine de chatons qui furent nécessaires avant que Nikki reconnaisse avoir atteint son but. Le Bombay était né.


Son look

Le Burmese américain et le Bombay sont des chats très puissants et athlétiques avec un poids surprenant pour leur taille. La tête est ronde, avec un front arrondi et un stop marqué et, surtout, de grands yeux ronds d’une belle couleur dorée. L’encolure est plutôt courte. Le corps est compact avec une cage thoracique bien ouverte. Les épaules et les hanches sont arrondies. La queue est de taille moyenne. La fourrure, caractéristique, est très courte, près du corps et satinée. Si le Bombay est noir de jais, le Burmese américain a un patron de robe typique appelée sépia, où la couleur est plus claire sur le corps pour s’intensifier aux extrémité sans que le contraste soit toutefois très marqué. Quatre couleurs sont acceptées : le seal sépia (zibeline), le chocolat sépia, le blue sépia et le lilac sépia.


Sa compagnie
Le Burmese américain et le Bombay sont des chats faciles à vivre. Plutôt calmes et posés, ils peuvent avoir des moments de grande activité quand ils jouent avec leur maître ou partent dans une partie de chasse imaginaire. Leur fourrure ultra courte est sans entretien particulier, les caresses suffisant à lustrer leur poil. Contrairement aux autres chats noirs, la couleur du Bombay ne souffre pas de l’exposition prolongée au soleil qui lui donne des reflets roux. Tant mieux, car il adore les bains de soleil !

 Standard des Burmeses & Bombays :

« Viens, mon beau chat, sur mon coeur
amoureux ; Retiens les griffes de ta patte,
Et laisse moi plonger dans tes beaux yeux,
Mêlés de métal et d’agate.
Lorsque mes doigts caressent à loisir
Ta tête et ton dos élastique,
Et que ma main s’enivre du plaisir
De palper ton corps électrique. »
Charles Baudelaire

L’histoire du Burmese commence en 1930 à Rangoon, capitale de la Birmanie. Un certain Dr. Thompson, médecin de l’armée américaine, remarqua une chatte nommée « Wong Mau » à cause de sa belle fourrure de couleur marron foncé. A San Francisco, Wong Mau fut croisée avec un mâle Siamois. A la deuxième génération, Wong Mau fit naître des chatons lui ressemblant avec la même couleur de robe. Aujourd’hui en France, il existe deux types de Burmese : le Burmese américain et le Burmese anglais.

L’histoire du Bombay est plus récente. Ce n’est pas une race naturelle mais une race issue de l’imagination d’une éleveuse américaine. Dans les années 60, Nikki Horner créa cette nouvelle race en croisant un Burmese et une American shorthair noire. Le résultat fut saisissant. Le Bombay était né et le rêve de l’éleveuse de posséder une panthère noire miniature de salon devint réalité au bout de longues années de travail.

Caractéristiques :
Le Bombay et le Burmese américain partagent un standard similaire. Ils ont une tête agréablement arrondie avec un nez court, le corps est compact et très musclé, le poil est très brillant près du corps. Le Bombay s’habille en robe noire uniquement, alors que le Burmese américain possède plusieurs coloris dans sa garde robe : seal-sepia (zibeline), chocolat-sepia (champagne), bleu-sepia, lilac-sepia.

Très peu répandues dans le monde, les deux races s’élèvent souvent ensemble, et peuvent être mariées entre elles. Dans l’élevage du Bombay/Burmese américain, seul le Burmese américain zibeline peut être croisé avec le Bombay. Ainsi, les portées sont souvent mixtes avec des chatons Bombays et Burmese.

Mariages autorisés dans l’élevage du Bombay :
Bombay x Bombay Bombay x Burmese américain

Mariage autorisé dans l’élevage du Burmese américain :
Burmese américain x Burmese américain (tout mariage avec un Burmese anglais est interdit et non reconnu par le LOOF).

En Savoir plus sur le : LE STANDARD LOOF DU BOMBAY & BURMESE


A PROPOS
La Chatterie de l'Alantolie est un élevage familial de chats Norvégiens, Bombays-Burmese Américains et Somalis. Nous sommes situés à Loué, près du Mans, en Pays de Loire.

Contact:
La Chatterie de l'Alantolie
12 rue Robert Schuman -
 72540 LOUÉ
Tél.: +33 6 26 06 65 12